How to > Create a Share site

 

Share site

Get started

Set up your site

Add and edit pictures

Customize your site

Invite visitors and members

Articles

Invite visitors and members

Once you’ve filled your site with pictures and customized it with sections for collaborating and communicating, it’s time to invite friends, family, teammates and classmates to view your creation.

To invite visitors to view your open site, select the “Invite” link at the top-right of the page. Enter up to 50 email addresses or choose existing contacts from your address book and then customize the message that will accompany your invite. Then click “Send message.”

To add members and invite them to view your site, go to the “Members” pulldown menu at top-right and select “Add members.” Enter up to 50 email addresses or choose existing contacts from your address book and then customize the message that will accompany your invite. Then click “Add members.”

 

 

 

Set site notifications

There are several options for setting site notifications, which are emails sent to members of your site. Under the “Settings” pulldown menu at top-right, select “Change notifications.” Under the Invitations tab, enter default messages that will be sent to members. Your site also comes equipped with its own email address—click on the Incoming E-Mail tab to choose settings for receiving content from members via email.

On the Outgoing E-mail tab, you’ll see a Notification Frequency pulldown menu with four options:

  • Never: no notifications of site updates are ever sent.
  • Individual: all members are notified each time another member has made a change (you aren’t notified of your own changes).
  • Daily: all changes during the course of a day are aggregated into one email and sent out later that night. If there are no changes, no email is sent. This is the automatic default setting.
  • Weekly: all changes during the course of a week are aggregated into one email and sent out at the end of the week. If there are no changes, no email is sent.

 

 

Set permission levels

Permission levels are a way for you to control the level of access that visitors and members have to your site. Go to the “Settings” pulldown menu in the upper-right and select “Change site permissions.”

There are six levels of permissions:

  • No Access: the contents of your site are not visible to anyone but you.
  • Readers: visitors or members can view your site.
  • Commenters: visitors or members can view and enter comments on your site.
  • Contributors: visitors or members can view, enter comments, and add or edit their own content on your site.
  • Editors: members can view, comment, add and edit all content on your site.
  • Owners: can add and edit all content and customize your site. As site creator, you’re automatically the site owner and a site member.

Visitors and members can also download high-quality copies of photos from your site to their computer. Just make sure to check the box at the bottom of the Permission tab.

 

 

Add comments

When you set your site permissions level to “Commenters” or higher, site visitors or members can add their comment to any picture displayed on your site. To add comments, click on any picture thumbnail to navigate to the detail page view. Click on the “Add a comment” link at the bottom of the page to enter your feedback. Use the “Show text tools” link to change font size, color, alignment and more.

 

 

 

Order prints and create products

Visitors and members with Shutterfly accounts can save pictures to their accounts, order prints and create products directly off your site. Click “Order prints” at the bottom of any picture section and a pop-up window appears. Check the boxes below the pictures you’d like to order. All boxes are checked by default, so click “none” in the upper-right to remove all the checks and choose individual pictures or “all” to re-select the entire group. When you’re done, click “Order Now” at the bottom of the page. At this point you’ll be transferred to your Shutterfly cart where you can complete your order.

 

 

 

To create products, click the “Create Products” link and follow the same steps for choosing which pictures you’d like to include. Then choose the product you’d like to create from the buttons at the top of the window.

 

 

 

Our brands: